The movement of people from agricultural areas to cities to work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems? What measures can be used to solve these problems?

The advancement in urban areas has encouraged people from different parts of the country to relocate. However, the relocation of thousands of people every day is resulting in serious consequences for both places. This issue along with the solution is highlighted in the following paragraphs. Firstly, migration to cities has resulted in an over-populated scenario for such states and is leading to burdening of available resources. Moreover, due to the increased demand, there is inflation in the economy. To exemplify- accommodation has become quite costly for even a small apartment in Mumbai as there is space constraint throughout the region. Additionally, the rural areas also suffer as a result of this movement by having less agricultural labour available who could help in the cultivation and farming activities. The agricultural sector is one of the largest contributors to the Indian economy and there is a downfall in the overall gross domestic production level affecting the exports. For instance - World Trade Organisation's recent report indicates India's exports from the primary sector falling over the past few years whereas the contribution of the secondary sector has improved. As a solution to these issues, it is critical to work on the development of backward areas to improve the standard of living for its residents. Furthermore, better job opportunities should be available for natives and the government should take up the initiatives to assure equal distribution of wealth throughout the entire country. Also, national authorities should regulate the pricing of commodities to avoid hoarding and black marketing. To summarize, it is vital to work on the betterment of society as a whole instead of focusing only on some areas. The government along with private companies should work hand-in-hand to eradicate this issue before it deepens its root in our society.