Some universities deduct students’ marks if work is given late. What is your opinion and recommend some alternative actions for this problem?

There are certain tasks students are expected to complete while studying at a university. One of them is the assignments but some teachers deduct marks if the assignments are submitted late. This essay will discuss how this practice is useless for the development of students. To begin with, the fear of deduction of marks might force the students to copy the practice in order to submit it on a date without understanding it. As a result, the students do not learn anything new about the topic as well as they do not develop skills of critical thinking. For instance, most of the universities in rural areas of Pakistan still give fewer marks if the job is submitted not on the day and students of these universities perform poorly when they compete with other students of Pakistan in analytical tests such as NTS and GRE. Therefore, this practice should be stopped in order to promote learning among students. There are numerous other methods to encourage a student to submit homework on time. One of them is to have a competition for the best chore in a month, which will make students submit on time and they will try to improve the quality of their work, promoting learning. For example, the best concept that I developed at the university was in the subject of "Theory of Structures" as our teacher used to give 1000 rupees for the best assignment of the week. Thus, such steps should be taken instead of deducting marks. In conclusion, forcefully submitting tasks on time is not useful but other methods such as holding a competition for the best homework will give better results in terms of learning. In my opinion, more different methods should be developed to promote learning instead of deducting marks.