Some people think children should have the freedom to make mistakes, while other people believe that adults should prevent children from making mistakes. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some are of the opinion that children should be allowed to make mistakes, while others claim adults should take a preventative approach. In my opinion, there are limits, but it is essential for healthy development to permit children their errors. Proponents of reduced freedom for children argue that life is much more complicated nowadays with more potential dangers, and children are not always able to take sensible precautions because they have less experience and therefore less awareness of adverse consequences. For example, they may have never come across a robbery, so they may assume that this can never happen to them. Parents, thus, should intervene to help their children understand and manage risks. In this case, parents have a responsibility to both care for and prepare their children before they reach adulthood. Regardless, a certain degree of autonomy is crucial to mature development. Children who are shielded from making mistakes often lack important skills that encourage healthy growth as the majority of learning is achieved through mistakes. Of course, children should be ensured a timely response from parents when reassurance is needed. However, the role of adults should be to support and guide rather than to do for children what they need to learn to do for themselves. It is often during times when things are not working out or pose a challenge that children have the opportunity to develop coping and resilience skills. This approach of fostering a sense of self-sufficiency will serve children best throughout life. In conclusion, although some adults may put too much emphasis on the importance of parental intervention in children ’s education, I believe there are empirically proven benefits to providing children with opportunities for learning that come from making mistakes. If larger segments of society accept this perspective, it will benefit all of society.