These days, mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Using smartphones to keep in touch with people is a vital approach socially in recent years. While this trend has some benefits, there are more drawbacks which are worth considering. In this essay, I will explain the pros and cons in detail in the ensuing paragraphs. On the one hand, using mobiles to socialise is beneficial for the users to save time and be more efficient. We can meet a range number of friends and access information on the internet at home. For instance, remote work has been becoming general since the pandemic; therefore, workers can through email, instant messenger services, or video messaging to keep in contact with other employees instead of commuting to a company to attend a face-to-face meeting. Therefore, there are some positive effects on people's use of the internet. However, the disadvantages of connecting with one another on cyber are even more significant and have various harmful effects on a person, both physically and emotionally. If the population, especially the young, overuse the internet to contact each other, it may lead to so-called internet addiction. Adolescents, for example, spend lots of time catching up with cyber relationships and new online friends on dating apps, which causes them to have some diseases of civilisation, such as body aches or vision problems. In addition, these teenagers gradually estranged from their family and friends around them. The socially isolated may have obstacles to social interaction in the future. In conclusion, despite the fact that staying in touch with people by cellphones socially is less time-consuming and a waste of time, it indeed brings physical diseases and social issues to citizens, particularly teenagers.