Some people prefer to buy local commodities, while other think that world wide products have a better quality. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Shopping has become a global trend. Whilst many consumers around the world prefer to purchase domestic products, others are convinced that international brands are of better quality. I am of the belief that supporting local goods should be encouraged. On one hand, opponents believe that international brand names have decent quality and can serve anyone professionally. To explain, if someone wants to apply for a vacancy at a multinational company, he might be required to wear brands in order to have a prestigious look and therefore, a better chance as a candidate. According to an article which was published in "The Economist", some corporates ask their employees to come to work wearing brands since they are considered as representers for their companies. Thus, not only does an international brand name give some people a sense of satisfaction, but it also can provide them with a highly-ranked job. On the other hand, some citizens in many countries encourage local commodities for economic reasons. In other words, when local companies prosper in their quality and quantity, new factories will be opened and more manpower will be hired, and this is in its turn an economic privilege. A prime example is Egypt where many Egyptians prefer to buy local cotton clothes because of their high quality. Moreover, they are of low cost compared to their international counterparts. Therefore, not only do local goods drastically resolve the unemployment issue, but they also can save more money for consumers. In conclusion, after this essay has discussed both points of view, it can be reiterated that some customers support their local industries, whereas others conceive of international brand names as professionally prestigious at work. I second the first view because if the industry of the country thrives, this will have a plethora of economic benefits for both manufacturers and consumers.