In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Selecting a place to live in is a big decision to make. In some parts of the world, people value their own accommodation because it is a sense of achievement rather than renting which could not save money in the long run. From my perspective, house ownership is a natural human desire. First and foremost, many individuals seek to own their personal house where they could live with peace of mind. Although they may struggle to acquire it, many people tend to purchase homes as per their needs. For instance, in many western countries, people mortgage and take loans from banks to purchase property. Whereas, living as a tenant, not only one must have to abide by the rules and regulations set by the landlords, but also individual can not renovate or repair according to his need. Thus, it is imperative to have a home where one can live peacefully. Nonetheless, I believe that having a home has many positive aspects such as it gives freedom in doing many things. Persons will not get bound to anyone's rules and regulations and owners have the opportunity to renovate frequently. Taking myself as an example, when I was living in the suburbs of Auburn, Sydney, I cannot even move a refrigerator from the kitchen to another place, so having personal accommodation is necessary to thrive in society. Furthermore, the sense of satisfaction can be felt in our own building which could be missing in renting an apartment so, this will make the owner feel more relaxed. Hence, owning a home gives satisfaction. To sum up, a place to live truly depends on the dwellers either if they live as a tenant or have their own flat. However, renting a home could not save finances while ownership can save money.