Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their countries. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to change this negative attitude towards international tourism?

It is believed, nowadays, that tourists seem to be a problem for some natives. Moreover, such individuals show a bad, unfriendly example of their country. There are some essential factors that shifted natives' attitudes toward international travellers. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will discuss these factors and propose some solutions that should potentially improve the situation. Some public claim that international people constantly change a country's culture and language. Therefore, they negatively react to all travellers regardless of their respect for the country. The reason for such unwelcomeness is a high level of nationalism throughout society. As a result of that, patriotic members of the public are not open to new international words, food and culture, and try to keep local things unchangeable. For instance, I see this tendency in Finland, which is known for its high level of patriotism. Finnish people, especially the old generation, are cold to visitors, and therefore, prefer not to talk with them. That's why, international political parties should be included in such countries in order to decrease the average level of patriotism, and subsequently, encourage locals to be more open to foreigners. Another fact that makes natives more conservative in terms of tourism is the bad experience with international tourists. If people saw unacceptable behaviour from some foreigners they probably would generalise this to all tourists. For example, my mom had poor expectations of visitors from China due to a bad experience in the past before she met nice Chinese and changed her attitude toward them. Hence, if people stopped making judgments relying on the small representations of internationals, we would get rid of negative attitudes to them. In conclusion, I would say that there are at least two main reasons that force people to think badly about international tourism for their countries: a high level of patriotism and judgment by previous experience. However, including international parties in governments as well as thinking critically would change the situation.