Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that the question of whether it is more important to be strong mentally or physically remains a source of controversy in the sports field. While a number of people believe that no sportsperson can reach the top without the mental qualities of determination and dedication, I would argue that the basis for success must be the physical strength. On the one hand, all sports trainers recognize the necessity of a strong mental attitude. Firstly, if trainers cannot foster a competitive spirit or even a win-at-all-costs attitude, the sportspeople whom they train may lack the necessary motivation to work hard and succeed. Hours spent training in the gym, for instance, may be repetitive and boring, and aspiring athletes need to stay focused. Secondly, in any kind of sport, there will be bitter disappointments or failures, and it is essential to be mentally strong to overcome these and achieve one’s goal. In particular, in the world of professional sports, where news coverage places too much value on sports, it is impossible to have a laid-back attitude and still succeed. On the other hand, I believe that physical strength must play the core role of all success in sports. While it is true that many people prefer taking up sport simply to get into shape or to keep fit, those who are ambitious to make it to the top must be physically strong. Take sports such as weightlifting, judo, or boxing as an example. Yet all other sports also require physical strength for stamina and endurance, even sailing or horse-riding. Some sports stars, for instance, even used banned substances, like performance-enhancing drugs, in order to maintain ideal physical condition, risking their careers. In conclusion, although both physical and mental strength certainly has some validity in sports, it seems to me that it is impossible to be successful without being physically strong.