task 2 academic Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Today, certain people argue that there are too many choices for us to choose. I strongly believe that we have lots of options in this era. Some reasons will be further explained in the essay. Firstly, the massive development of the digital world cannot be overlooked. We can find anything or anyone through the internet. Once we are looking for something via the internet, the internet itself records the history of all our past searches. This will allow the internet to know what we need and give us a lot of choices for what we are looking for by means of ads. For example, we want to buy a new vacuum cleaner, then we search it on google which one is the best. The internet is likely to show us many different types of vacuum cleaner through the ads, even when we are using the internet for different purposes. Secondly, many people feel uncertain and unsatisfied with their choices. This is because there are too many options we can choose. Some research said when people have lots of options, they tend to try and feel curious about those choices. Thus, when we already decide something, the other options which we have not tried lead us to uncertainty of feeling of what we have chosen. To illustrate, when we come to an ice cream shop and it has more than ten flavours that we can buy, we need to spare more time to decide what flavour we want. Once we buy one flavour, we may come again to the shop to buy another flavour until we try them all. Therefore, this habit can have negative effects because we are never satisfied with what we have decided. In conclusion, I think nowadays, people have too many choices to decide.