Some people believe that showing big sporting events like the Olympics and the World Cup encourages adults to exercise. Others think there are better ways to make people to exercise. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. Give relevant examples,

It could be argued that huge sports events can encourage people to be widely involved in sports. While other opinions may see that there are more effective channels to do so. Personally, I believe that Sports events have a great influence on people, especially youngsters, as will be illustrated in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, I strongly agree with the notion that huge sports events are great influencers. Since early adolescence and childhood, humans start to look up to role models and try by all means to mimic them. The feeling of glory, fame and excellence are game changers in kids’ minds. As a result, drawing their attention to sports champions and celebrities definitely entices them to follow the same path. For example, in my original country Egypt, the story of the soccer player “Mo Salah” and how he made his way from a humble family to be one of the most famous soccer players in the world, has affected many children and families there. Now, there is an increasing number of families that are sending their kids to train in soccer and other sports more than before. On the other hand, it is undeniable that there are other ways through which the community can be encouraged to participate more in sports and exercise. As far as I am concerned, there is a worldwide raised awareness regarding how to maintain a healthy lifestyle and how to work out recently; however, the impact of championships and great events is more profound. Other ways include the role of schools- of course- that cannot be neglected. Also, social media, such as Instagram, support this in a positive and marvellous manner, nonetheless again we can say that it is the influence of celebrities and role models. In conclusion, people can be directed through various means to play sports, either through conventional ways such as raising public awareness or through celebrating games and global sports events. However, I believe that the latter has the greatest impact.