Many people think that every individual is responsible for their own healthy lifestyle. Other believe that government should take care of it. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Health awareness has drastically increased over the years. However, this realisation has come with the alarming surge of diseases. While many people may believe that each person should take responsibility for their own health, others believe that the government is responsible for it. I believe that although the government should provide more health facilities as well as healthier food options, each person is an individual and should be responsible for their own actions. On the one hand, the government needs to promote healthier living. For example, providing more health facilities within communities, such as gyms, sports clubs and swimming pools all free of cost. This will encourage society from all walks of life as well as provide equality to people from all socio-economic backgrounds. Similarly, they should also provide fresh, healthy foods and promote clean eating as they already have done by enforcing a sugar tax law.How will individuals be encouraged to eat healthily or exercise if the means have not been provided? On the other hand, only a person themselves can control their actions. For example, people are only able to motivate themselves to use the health facilities provided or follow a healthy diet by reducing carbohydrate and fat intake and choosing well-balanced nutritious meals as no one can physically force them. Therefore, it is a responsibility of a citizen to be able to choose a healthy lifestyle. To conclude I believe that every individual's life is in their own hands as well as their life choices, on the contrary, governments can enforce laws and provide amenities for the public in order to entice them towards goodness. I believe that both of them should play an equal part in helping themselves and society.