In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this massage?

Children can be affected easily by what other people say to them. Some cultures claim that young people can attain anything if they are told to work hard. This can be a positive point because it can impact their performance, while it can also lead them to negative consequences, such as stress. Young people will be motivated to work hard continuously since they want to acquire their desires. This shapes them into hardworking and brave individuals, especially when they face challenges because they fully believe in themselves. In addition, they will understand the importance of hardwork, which makes them reluctant to give up. For instance, students who are encouraged by their teachers to try hard will work vigorously to reach their goals as it affects their perspectives to believe that effort is essential. As a result, they have become resilient people and will perform consistently if they have aims. On the other hand, children have to deal with hardships as they cannot fulfill their satisfaction without working hard. They will think that they are incapable of achieving their goals, leading them to experience demotivation. Moreover, it can also cause them to overwork since they will feel lacking in many aspects and force themselves too far. One of my friends, for example, experienced burnout due to studying intensively because her parents often said that she must put forth all efforts. Hence, it influenced her performance and resulted in a stressful life because of the pressure she received from her parents. To conclude, telling young people to be hard workers can be an effective way to broaden their visions and shape them into better people in the future since they will be aware of their dreams that need to be accomplished through dedication. However, it can adversely affect them as they will feel under pressure and obligated to strive harder.