In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers prefer going to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently, a large number of small local shops have closed due to most shoppers prefer going to big shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. In my view, this should be perceived as a negative trend for two main reasons. Firstly, purchasing things in small regional shops can help economic growth in the local area. When people buy something in the local shops, the income of the local outlets will rise. Therefore, sellers in regional areas can meet their daily needs. To illustrate, when the seller of the local shop which sells vegetables has a great income, they can buy proper clothes in the regional shop too. Consequently, it can bring the wheels of the economy in that area move forward. Secondly, the price of things in shopping centres or malls is usually higher than in regional outlets. It can happen as most of the outlets in a shopping centre or mall must pay the rent fee monthly or yearly. Besides that, shops in shopping complexes or plazas burden the customers to pay taxes, thus making the price tag in those places rise significantly. To compare, the cost of a red shirt made by Uniqlo Company in regional outlets is one hundred dollars, but in the shopping complex or plaza, that shirt would cost twenty dollars more as shoppers must pay the outlet taxes. To sumup, buying daily groceries or some things in regional local shops is not only cheaper than in plazas or shopping complexes, but also it also makes the wheels of the economy in the local area move forward. I, therefore, remain firmly convinced that the growing trend to buy something in plazas or shopping centres can only be seen as a negative activity.