With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the global population expands, the desire for fossil fuels also skyrockets. Many think that we should open up the unfound land to be able to use the resources it has. I absolutely disagree with this statement. First of all, instead of finding new places for mining, numerous nations have started to harness the power of green energy such as solar power, wind power, and hydro power as an alternative to fossil fuels. In addition, many countries are trying to be less dependent on natural oil and gas. For example, countries such as Singapore, has started to replace gas powered buses with electric powered ones to reduce the dependency on crude oil. Secondly, if we do not open up those pieces of land for resource mining, we will lessen the pollution. Moreover,the flora and fauna will be able to thrive and the air will be much cleaner. We have to use drills to get the resources underground and doing that will have a detrimental affect on the soil and dirt which plants use to grow. For instance, if that area is in the tropical rainforest, an astronomical number of trees would have to be cut down to be able to drill underground. As a result, this would have a tremendous impact on the environment and our health In summary, there are definitely pros and cons to discovering new areas that store the resources we might need such as gas and oil. However, I believe that the pros outweigh the cons.