Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes air pollution.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a dramatic rise in air pollution. Some believe that controlling the number of flights might help curtail this alarming problem. I disagree with this because I feel that there are other ways to tackle this issue and imposing these restrictions can have negative effects on trade and the economy. Although reducing air travel is a fair method to decrease air pollution, there are much better ways to do so. Firstly, governmental organizations can work on creating fuel-efficient aeroplane models, this will help decrease exhaust gases generated by aviation systems. Recent studies have shown that using better-designed engines can reduce fumes by 30%. Authorities can also make use of certain legislative measures to ensure that all airway lines are making use of energy-conserving planes. These steps will encourage pilots and crew members to keep a watch on the fuel consumed and hence help reduce the gases released into the atmosphere. Moreover, preventing flights from functioning could have certain detrimental effects. Air travel is essential for exporting and importing goods, these restrictions will impair trade. Travel and tourism which generate loads of financial benefits will suffer drastically. For instance, several developing countries like Sri Lanka rely heavily on the tourism industry for boosting their economy,and a ban on certain aeroplane flights might affect the financial growth of these types of countries. Hence this solution to reduce atmospheric pollution will have many monetary repercussions and will affect developing nations enormously. In conclusion, I believe that decreasing the number of flights travelling from one place to another is not a good solution to deal with this pressing problem. There are alternative measures which can be employed without resulting in financial and trade losses.