In many countries paying things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In this modern era, technology has taken over the traditional ways of payments and now majority of the transactions are executed by simply using a cellphone. This essay will highlight the pros and cons of using these applications and will conclude that how this advancement has made our life easier. First and foremost, making an online payment by a gadget is of great convenience as it saves a lot of time and effort. For instance, in 20th Century when paying your electricity bill was considered a strenuous task because the person had to go the bank, stand in the long queue and wait for his turn and ensure that this all is done within business hours. But now, just download the app on your cellular device and pay your bill by click of few buttons. This results in saving much of your time and effort which can be utilized in multiple other self-oriented tasks. On the contrary, using a cell phone is not convenient for all ages, especially veterans who hasn’t used these technologies in their early age. For example, a study performed by UCL (The University of College of London) stated “ global demographics shows that 32% of the world’s population are above the age of 60 and when survey conducted on 10,000 individuals in this age category, we reached the conclusion that 40% of them didn’t know how to use a mobile phone which indicates that approximately 12% of the total population doesn’t possess the capability of operating a phone”. In a nutshell, I pen down saying that a lion’s share of people are well equipped with using online payment options and hence using the cellular device to make e-payments is of paramount benefit and quite eminent among the users. Who prefers to burn out hours in bank queues to make a simple payment, when it can be accomplished in a few seconds using a mobile phone?