Nowadays older people of their own age instead of living with their children.Is this a positive or a negative development?

Numerous advances in medicine and healthcare sciences have increased the average life expectancy of people all around the globe, this has increased the number of senior citizens significantly. Nowadays, these citizens reside in old-age homes, away from their families. I believe that this is a negative change because spending time with one's family has a plethora of benefits. Interacting with family members is essential, it helps maintain good mental health. By communicating and sharing our problems with our kin, we are able to find plausible solutions. Besides this, it helps reduce our stress levels and makes us feel at ease. Recent public health studies have shown that university students who stayed with their kin had lower anxiety levels as compared to those pupils who resided in hostels. Therefore, I believe that old people should stay with their relatives because this will protect them from ailments associated with brain dysfunction and mental disorders. In addition to this, playing and communicating with their grandchildren would make them happy and preserve their cognitive skills. Moreover, elders have a lot of knowledge, which they have gained from their various life experiences. Young children and adolescents can learn new pieces of information from them and avoid making mistakes their grandparents have committed in the past. For example, the owner of the company Mama Earth explained in one interview that most of the bath products the business creates, are inspired by her grandmother's ancient herbal concoctions. Hence, I am of the opinion that younger generations can benefit by spending time with people from older generations. In conclusion, older citizens of society should stay with their families instead of staying in elderly-care centres. Residing with one's family is not only good for their mental well-being but also benefits their own grandchildren and children.