Globalisation has highlighted the need for international communication. It is often argued that English should be a compulsory subject for all school children around the world. Others argue that this would do more harm than good. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The rapid evolution of technology made the world tightly connected, thus some believe that having the English language as a unified language at schools is mandatory in able to maintain globalisation; however, others think that this might result in detrimental effects on societies. The following essay will discuss both views and gives relevant examples. To commence, the era of development connected people in various aspects such as education, trading, and socializing. However, this would be impossible without having a common language to communicate and share information and knowledge, therefore English was used as the official language among most countries to be able to connect with others and stay up-to-date. Eventually, a significant number of schools are teaching this language due to its fundamental role in our daily life as it is the most spoken language in the world. For instance, the majority of international companies require fluency in English upon hiring new employees; nevertheless,applicants with basic English knowledge will not be considered for the job. On the other hand, this phenomenon results in a lack of variability among communities. It is thought that over time societies and countries might lose their identities and languages will disappear over the years. In fact, what makes every country unique is having its own spoken language and sharing it with foreigners in an attempt to spread its own culture to the world. For instance, tourists enjoy visiting various cities and learning their spoken language in order to communicate with the citizens and build new relationships. To sum up, nowadays the English language is considered the most essential method of communication, although some people argue that due to the lack of diversity in communities. I believe that although it is essential to maintain our local cultures and languages, however, learning English is mandatory to be able to move forward with the ongoing evolution.