Some people believe that studying for a university degree is better for an individuals career than gaining work experience immediately after highschool. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, more and more people are enrolling themselves in university courses. The main reason for this is that they believe that there are many career-related advantages associated with procuring a degree from a well-known institution as compared to those obtained from working as an intern. I disagree with this because I believe that there are several benefits of gaining job experience such as enhancing practical knowledge and improving their profile. Interning at a workplace is an effective way to put effort into improving one's interpersonal skills and gaining information about how the real world works. Listening and carefully observing seniors and colleagues, helps people develop an excellent work ethic. Furthermore, it helps them come up with plausible solutions for problems and enhances their analytical skills. These things are not taught in educational institutions and one can only gain knowledge about them through real-life experiences. For instance, undergraduate doctors can improve their patient-handling techniques only by observing senior doctors and working under them. Hence, in my opinion, gaining job experience has several positive effects on personal growth. Presently, recruiters of various companies have started giving importance to previous job experiences, while hiring new employees. Therefore, it is essential for students to acquire this in order to excel in their careers. For instance, many design studios prefer to employ art students who have worked under eminent designers rather than hiring those who have just received degrees from design institutions. Hence, it is clear that employers now consider practical knowledge vital. In conclusion, procuring work-related skills is more essential for career development than graduating from a renowned college. In my opinion, one should work on upskilling themselves rather than focussing on getting a degree from a university.