2-Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea, some think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that plastic bags are accountable for the contamination of soil and the ocean. While some argue that we should prohibit the use of them, I believe that both governments and individuals have to do more to tackle this problem. I can understand the reason why plastics should be banned. Firstly, they are not environmentally friendly. These bags are non-biodegradable, which means that they would continue to exist in the world. Secondly, plastics could lead to the pollution of soil. Since they are made of man-made materials, they would release chemical pollutants into the ground. Finally, plastic bags not only damage the environment but also threaten the lives of various animals. For example, a large number of turtles are trapped by plastic bags, and they may starve to death. However, banning these bags cannot tackle the damage that has already been caused. Rather than simply banning plastics, I argue that other measures should be taken to address this problem. One possible option would be for governments to invest in the recycling industry. In this way, the plastic bags in the soil and ocean can be recycled. Besides, advertising campaigns should be subsidized by governments to raise the awareness of the public. Another feasible option would be for individuals to use alternatives when they do shopping, such as cotton bags and biodegradable bags. Only in this way can we solve the problem caused by plastics. In conclusion, I believe that collaborative efforts are needed to deal with plastic pollution and prohibition is not the most effective way.