In some countries around the world, men and women are having babies late in life. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

In many developed countries, there are more and more parents tend to have babies late in their lives. The change in the family role of a female, economic development and the awareness of women ’s rights are the reasons for this phenomenon. In this essay, I am going to discuss the causes of it and the reasons why I consider it to be a negative development. To begin with, women do not need to take whole responsibility for taking care of children in modern society. Moreover, gender equality encourages females to pursue their career which leads to postponing the time of giving birth later. Take Taiwan as an example, more and more women dedicate their lives to their careers. Therefore, they tend to choose to keep working for promotions and higher payment which postpones the plan of having babies. The proportion of older pregnant women has risen to 32% in 2021. On the other hand, many scientists are worried about Advanced Maternal Age. Some diseases and symptoms are contributed from elderly pregnant women which are the major consequences of having a baby late in life. For instance, Down syndrome is a common disease for having a baby late. The risk will be increased by 50 times compared with pregnant women aged below 34 years old. In conclusion, gender equality and the increase in the number of career women in modern society are the reasons for this phenomenon. However, babies are more likely to be born with a disability which is the main negative effect caused by it.