In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything of they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is no doubt that education plays a critical role in the history of humankind. Without it being the foundation of the progression, it is hard to imagine humans could be able to achieve such top-level civilization. In cultures somewhere on this planet, people harbour a belief that children shall be taught if they are hard-working, everything can be attained. In this essay, I will discuss both the positive and negative sides and my posture of this statement. First of all, children can be motivated to deal with challenging things when they believe hard work contributes to success. In Asian countries, pupils are always instructed by a traditional proverb which calls for sparing no effort can hurdle every challenge. Holding this faith, they are likely to try hard to reach their goals. Furthermore, the importance of being industrious can be continuously passed down. Thanks to our diligent ancestors, offspring like us can live in a society with prosperity. Based on such compelling proof, there are indeed some advantages. At the other end of the spectrum, kids can be hurt deeply with a belief that they will be successful in the end if with resolution. Being too confident, the frustration that they faced might not be well dealt with, which would overshadow their mentality to some extent. What’s more, this condition may result in a worse outcoming, that is, having a negative and sluttish mindset for the rest of their lives. Take me as a vivid example, being the representative of the table tennis varsity while studying in elementary school, I was overwhelmed by the crushing failure and couldn’t get through it. If it were not my coach and parents, I would have definitely given up such attractive and interesting sports at that time. Clearly, some demerits can be risen. To sum up, apparently, there are merits and drawbacks in teaching the young that diligence could lead to a promising ending. Personally, I am inclined to stand with an individual keeping a studious attitude whether the final is, since the opportunities can merely be seized by those who are well-prepared.