Some people believe the purpose of education is to make people useful to society. Others believe it is to prepare them to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Individuals are divided in their opinion regarding the context of academic learning. To someone, the moto of studying should be providing services to the community whereas many others think main intention of a student should be achieving their own goals. Both school of thoughts make sense to certain extent and hence both sides of the argument will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, it is obvious that persons with organizational learnings can contribute to the development of nation more efficiently through their specialized knowledge and expertise in partcular fields of their studies. For example, when someone studies medical science society desire him/her to serve in the healthcare institutions in order to ensure medical treatment of the general public. Therefore, almost every field of stydy has a core motive to serve the society and no learner can deny the fact. Againg Ageing, one of the significance of education is to make a person free of societal restrictions. According to this point of view, education should be for the freedom of one's own choices so that s/he can be anything they want whether it bring societal benefit or not. For instance, One may have the desire to be a singer which seems unimportant to run a nation but they should have the right to build his career in singings as long as it does not harm citizens. Infact, songs can play vital role in recreation related to peopls' mental health which is not any less important. However, after pondering both the views, i can say whatever the purpose people think of learning, education always serve to the well-being of society either directly or indirectly. Hence, to conclude, the moto of education does not necessarily lie on any sole objective rather it is for the betterment of nation as a whole.