A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often said that in today’s world, emphasis is put on what people can afford to buy, their standards of living and their social standing. This raises the question of whether human virtues such as honour, trustworthiness and kindness have lost importance. Although there is some truth in that, I fundamentally believe that in order to form real human connections, people base themselves on these core values and not so much on the perception of a person. It cannot be denied that with the rise of social media and the internet in general, gradually the world has become increasingly superficial. The way you present yourself to the outside world is how people around you form an idea about who you are as a person. This explains why on social media, people boast about their successes but rarely share their failures or misfortunes. However, if we can look past all these fake and artificial perceptions, we must not forget that we are all human beings. And as humans, we crave connections and deep understanding from the people around us. The foundations of these connections are more often based on trust and loyalty than on any materialistic element. A friendship can easily be broken by not acting virtuous, yet rarely does a friendship end because a person cannot afford to buy a new gadget on the market. And if that does happen, it was not friendship, to begin with. In conclusion, it is true that outside appearance plays a big role in today’s world. Nonetheless, the real worth of a person lies behind this societal mask, at the core of its being. It is actually only nowadays, with all this pretending around us, that we can appreciate the value of an honest and kind person.