Some people think living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is commonly argued that people who live in metropolitans have a higher chance of suffering from bad health conditions. I somewhat agree with the statement and this essay will discuss both sides. To begin with, there are a number of factors in big cities which are thought to have a bad effect on people's health. First and foremost, it is true that many different kinds of pollution are being produced in urban areas as higher populations have gathered to live than in other areas. Thus, light pollution, for example, distracts the citizens from having a sound sleep at night, which is indirectly concerned with people's health issues. Not only are there indirect factors, but air pollution from exhaust fumes from cars can directly afflict the condition of the public's lungs. Considering the fact that people living in urban areas are completely surrounded by those, it seems absurdly bad to live in cities. On the other hand, it is also essential how close medical facilities are to residential areas. Firstly, especially when it comes to the elderly, they need to get an off-and-on medical service, since their health condition could be irregularly worse for many reasons. Nonetheless, living in the countryside where people live rather scattered, they do not have as many facilities as in cities, nor does it take much more time to go to the hospital or emergency clinic. Therefore, it is of great importance that they can be treated and cured whenever they are in an urgent situation. To conclude, even though there are some specific reasons why rural areas are exposed to a certain medical crisis, I believe that cities are a more inappropriate place to live in as far as health is concerned.