Some people think that governments should invest mainly in making public transportation faster while others think there are more important priorities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The Government has many responsibilities towards it's citizens like developing good infrastructure, education, healthcare facilities etc. A nation develops only when it progresses in all the aspects. In my opinion, development of faster public transportation is as important as development of other services. On the one hand, I agree that there is a need to invest in faster public transportation as the population is increasing day-by-day. For example, majority of people are using private vehicles. If better options of public transport are made available folks might consider using them. In addition, it would reduse the number of people using personal cars. As a result, oil consumption would reduce to a certain extent and hence, the dependency on the oil producing countries. Further, it will also help in redcuing the traffic helping eveyone to save a lot of time. Therefore, investing in the construction of good roads, increasing the number of buses and  increasing the facilities in them, introducing metro trains wherever possible are a few initiatives that the government could plan to invest for the betterment of the transportation facilities. On the other hand, it can be argued that the government has other sectors as well that need to be developed. It has to take care of providing the children with free primary education as basic education is the right of every individual. Money should be spent of providing scholarships to deserving students to acquire higher education. Furthermore, investing in education would play an important role in the creation of new technologies. The healthcare is one other are that needs to improve. For instance, research for vaccination and medicines should be promoted so that they can be leveraged during situations like covid. Moreover, the common man should be able to avail to basic medication free of cost. To conclude, other facilities should be as good as the public transportation. For any community to progress it should do well in all the walks of life. Concentrating on one and neglecting the other is not an ideal solution.