Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there is a heavy debate about the information being asked by the interviewer to an interviewee. Information such as hobbies, interests and as well as their marital status is often regarded as relevant and resourceful, while others disagree. The two sides of this argument will be thoroughly analysed and discussed in this essay before drawing a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, gathering this much information can help employers understand the personality of the applicant. For instance, by knowing the interests and hobbies one can get a clear idea of the person will fit in the company and whether is a team player or not. Often it is seen that different people have different personalities, some prefer to work in the same culture while others don't. So this information can be more relevant and useful when it comes to hiring people. Nevertheless, asking about personal interests could lead to privacy concerns. For example, when applicants are asked about their leisure activities and whether they are married or single makes them uncomfortable as it is their private life. This discomfort could potentially impact the applicant's perception of the overall interview. Moreover, focusing too much on the personal interests of the interviewee by the interviewer rather than focusing on relevant skills might distract from knowing if the candidate is a right fit or not. To sum up, collecting personal information about the candidate in the hiring process can be helpful in view of knowing the nature of that person, however, it may have a negative impact on that person as well. It is strongly disagree that asking for personal details is irrelevant in the interview.