Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is the case? What can be done to attract local people?

Tourism has always been an integral industry all over the world. However, with the increased number of foreign visitors in any place, the locals are hardly seen visiting famous sites. The reasons and solutions to the aforementioned statement are mentioned in the following passages. Firstly, since natives are a resident of a particular city, they are occupied with their hectic lifestyles and do not consider visiting such places as an ideal enjoyment. Moreover, well-known monuments are considered to be an attraction for travellers and are usually crowded and avoided by the general public. To exemplify- several one-day tours and sightseeing packages are offered by touring agencies to overseas visitors. Additionally, foreigners on a vacation want to make the most out of their leisurely stay and are willing to explore regional places to learn about the culture and lifestyle of such communities. For instance - United Nations Educational, Science and Cultural Organisation's survey indicated the natives are less aware of the facts and importance of forts located within the city of their residence. To encourage the citizens and increase their footfall in such monumental areas, special discounts can be offered. Furthermore, one day of the week can be kept reserved for general entry only to avoid the rush and provide a delightful experience. Additionally, the importance of one's own culture should be promoted by the government by introducing initiatives that seek participation from locals as well. To summarize, the interests of both tourists and natives should be developed to maintain the relevance of historically rich places as this is important to receive the funding and keep these sites well maintained for future generations.