Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the monarchy period, sugar was a luxurious addon consumed only by nobles. However, sugar production became very efficient during the Industrial Revolution, gradually lowering the cost, and it became the standard item that anyone could consume. This essay will argue the harmful effects of sweets on human well-being. Over the last few decades, sugar intake has gradually risen while the food industry has grown exponentially. However, this substance is addictive to humans because their mouths contain taste buds that especially sense the sweet taste. As an opportunity, food specialists hacked this system further by inventing chemicals similar to natural sugar. In other words, this is further amplifying the craving for sugary foods. Unintentionally, people become addicted to these foods, and their threshold of the sweet will rise, while to get the previous level of sensitivity, people eat more sweets. Now, sweet drinks and food are threatening to human health, which act as the main culprits of Type Two Diabetes and chronic heart disease, which are on the top two noncommunicable diseases list in the world. Despite the warnings from health officials and doctors, consumption has risen yearly without any mitigation. Therefore, active measures need to be taken at the government level; increasing tariffs and taxes, as they pertain to sugar and similar types of items, will pave the way to curtail the demand for unhealthy foods. All things considered, various food brands are available to satisfy consumer needs even though ingredients are not best for the human body. Therefore, in the long run, people will suffer for their lives because diabetes and heart disease cannot be cured with current medicines.