In Britain, when someone gets old, they often go to live in a home with other elderly where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is seen that in countries like the UK, senior citizens often move to an old age home which is equipped with proper medical facilities including nurses to take care of them. Some people argue that the family should pay for their expenses and others have the notion that the government should bear the cost. However, I believe that the cost should be taken care of by their family instead of the government. Firstly, parents have spent most of their life earning to raise their kids and make ends meet. The parents tend to sacrifice the prime time of their life in order to provide for their children. Moreover, they spend their money and earnings on their children’s upbringing. Hence, I believe it is the outright responsibility of their children to provide for and support their parents during this vulnerable and dependent phase of their life. Secondly, most elder people may have health conditions which need to be treated and in addition to that, they need to be looked after by home care nurses. If the government were to pay for these services, then it will be a massive liability on the taxpayer’s money. To illustrate this example, nearly 60% of the population in Japan are senior citizens and if the expenses were to be taken by the government, then the burden would indirectly be on the shoulders of working-class people in the country. To summarize, people shift to old age homes when they grow old, and I believe that it is imperative that the expenses for the elderly should be paid by their family members since the senior citizens have spent the majority of their life taking care of their family.