Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

Today, it has become common for parents to be more focused on moulding their children to be best at everything. I believe this is not a favourable development as too much pressure on the young ones could have a detrimental effect on the little minds rather than helping them achieve heights. In this essay, I will provide reasons why I believe so. First and foremost, parents often have good intentions while they push their children to do better in school or any other curricular activities. However, they fail to understand if their children are actually interested to take up the challenge. This in turn leads the children to a highly stressful state and could even end up in depression. For example, if a child who is passionate about basketball is forced to learn mathematics and he is compelled to become an expert in the same, it will affect his mental and physical health and as a result he may not be able to excel in any of it. On the other hand, it is true that the competition is very high in this fast-paced world and children need to be pushed to do their best in order to help them cope with real life. Each child is unique, and they may have a different view and interest. So, the pressure needs to be given in accordance to how much they can handle. To conclude, guardians should ensure that they do not push their kids off the limit for any activity as it can be harmful to their mental and physical well-being, and they should be only pressurized if they are ready to take up the challenge.