In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is predicted that physical magazines will vanish in the near future as online platforms dominate the newspaper industry. Some people argue this phenomenon brings many benefits with its cheaper production cost, thus, I agree with some reasons which i will explain more in this essay. To begin with, an online newspaper costs almost zero to build because they do not need a factory to print the news. The low production budget results in a very cheap, almost free, for readers to read. As a result, the number of readers will increase and reach a wider netizen. For example, the new york times print is $5 a week, whilst its online platform subscription is only billed for $1 a week. The price difference successfully boosts its viewership to double in the last two years. The readership increases could improve knowledge which is a positive development for the nation. Secondly, the online platform is more seamless and portable so the readers could read whenever and wherever they want. This flexibility is more beneficial for commuters who often do not have space to bring a physical magazine everywhere. For instance, a survey conducted by the ministry of education shows that employees who commute every day by train to work prefer to read the news from the phone compared to real paper which is proclaimed to be too big for their bag. In other words, the online platform gives a more portable tool for many commuters. To summarize, an online newspaper gives many benefits to many people as they will increase viewership and a more seamless experience.