Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

A large number of old people have been abandoned by their household and they are taken to nursing homes. It seems to me that the drawbacks such as depression problems and finding trustworthy professionals who keep an eye on outweigh the benefits like indulging in friendships. In this essay, I am going to discuss both. One of the most obvious disadvantages is that for a considerable amount of, timee times they will be alone and could not visit their children therefore; they become depressed. There is no denying the fact that calling on them requires some basic factors; for example, free time. Unfortunately, children and adults nowadays possess full-time jobs and also have their own families which need hours,, consequentlyconsequently they do not give their parents a visit frequently. In addition, senior citizens need professional caregivers to take care of them and some staff who works in these centres are underqualified. For instance, last year my father’s friend who was put in a nursing home had a heart attack because of insufficient care. On the other hand, there are definitely some advantages. First and foremost, the elderly are able to find friends and take pleasure in conversing with their peers. In other words, they definitely have a lot in common, for example, they may be interested in playing board games or sharing their memories. Another positive point is that they benefit from the availability of skilled people such as nurses and doctors. In 2012, the United Kingdom passed a law that enforced nursing homes to employ specialized doctors as well as nurses that will aid nursing home residents in emergencies. In conclusion, the benefits like gaining special medical services and also making friends go hand in hand with the negatives like depression issues and insufficient care.