Write about the following topic: Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It could be noticed that some of the young use smartphones for hours each day. There are certainly some causes to this phenomenon and I think that it is negative. Several reasons contribute to this increasingly prominent situation. To begin with, the development of technology and the enormous flow of cheaper smartphones in the market make children have easier access to them. Nowadays, nearly every family can afford to buy one or even more this phones so no wonder children can use it frequently. Second, some adults do not set a good example and sometimes they just allow kids to indulge themselves. For instance, some parents do not control their children's using smartphones; however, they watch videos on Tiktok together with their children. No one can deny that smartphone can benefit children to a certain degree since the videos they watch and the games they play could be educational and informative, which may broaden their horizons and train their hands-on ability. However, this development may serve as an extremely bad purpose if children spent too much time on phones. For one thing, watching the screen for hours does harm to children's eyes, which usually gives rise to short-sightedness. For instance, it should be noted that an increasing number of children put on eye glasses at younger ages. For another, the more children use smartphones, the more they are likely encounter violent or sexual images, which disappoints and upsets quite a few parents. To conclude, the technology, market as well as some adults are mainly responsible for the existence of the situation, and the drawbacks of children ’s playing smartphones for hours long should be fully recognised. It is encouraged that all the young people to use such a digital device for good purpose and within time limit.