As more and more information is available online, the role of textbooks has become obsolete. Therefore, universities should replace traditional books with digital materials. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people believe that the internet is a great source of information and course books have become outmoded. For that reason, educational institutions should use online materials instead of printed curriculums. Despite some obvious advantages of this trend, I believe that these are outweighed by the disadvantages. On the one hand, one of the evident benefits of digital books is that they are easy to access. A good example of this is Google. To be more specific, learners around the world only need to type keywords in the search bar and millions of results will appear. Moreover, students will be kept well informed of the most updated textbooks. All they need to prepare is a tablet or an iPhone with a stable connection to read online materials. As a result, they don’t need to go to bookstores to buy curriculums to gain knowledge. On the other hand, I would argue that the drawbacks are more significant. Firstly, e-books might have a detrimental effect on our eyes. It is widely acknowledged that technical devices result in eye disorders and diseases. If learners spend too much time looking at a tablet, their eyes might suffer from myopic or far-sightedness. Secondly, reading online might be dangerous because of some devices. Statistics have shown that a lot of people die while reading and charging their phones. Specifically, some low-quality products are made in China and they explode while being charged and used at the same time. In conclusion, even though digital books can be read anytime and anywhere. I believe that they bring more negative effects than positive effects.