Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

It is apparent that many species today are facing extinction and many others are becoming endangered which has a devasting effect on the diversity of animals on our planet. This essay indicates that the drivers behind this phenomenon are global warming and illegal activities and the best solutions involve reducing pollution and introducing more animal-protection policies. Global temperature has been constantly rising which results in massive loss of habitats of many animals. Species such as polar bears or Antarctica foxes are suffering from ice melting which impoverishes their population. In addition to that, rare animals like rhinos or elephants are illegally hunted down for their horns which are believed to contain a great deal of healthy nutritious chemicals. This has led to many species rapidly losing their size and getting close to extinction. For example, the northern white rhinos have been extinct in the wild due to poaching and the only 2 remaining white rhinos are kept in captivity in Africa to prevent them from getting poached. Enforcing stricter laws on illegal hunting and reducing human impact on the environment are two potential solutions to this problem. Each individual may safeguard the residence of animals by lowering their carbon footprint which slows down the spread of the ozone layer hole and attenuates the disastrous impact that has on the animals. Furthermore, countries should share responsibility for preserving the ecosystem by implementing fiercer punishments for poachers such as life imprisonment or life-long rehabilitation programs. To illustrate, Vietnam used to be one of the most common nations for poaching but the government now has successfully prevented people from killing endangered species by launching new preservation laws. In conclusion, many species going extinct is the outcome of rising temperatures and unpermitted poaching. However, we may prevail by decreasing our influence on the surrounding environment and announcing stricter laws.