The government should pay to the parents of very young children, so that one of them can stay at home and look after their children.What do you think are the pros and cons of this policy? Justify your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, in many families, both parents work outside of the home, and some believe that governments should support them financially so that one of them can take care of their children. This has some advantages and disadvantages. There are several advantages if children are looked after by their parents. It is important that mothers take care of their children during the first two years because this can help children with feeling secure. In other words, if they are taken to nurseries, they may feel stressed as everything is new for them. In addition, when parents stay at home, it is more likely that the parent-child relationship becomes stronger as parents have more opportunities to play and communicate with their children. Nevertheless, paying parents to stay home and take care of their children can bring out some problems. Many countries can not afford this budget. There are struggling with some more significant issues which have priorities. For example, some governments have difficulties in providing drinking water and health care for their citizens. In my view, the authorities should focus on meeting their citizens’ essential needs, and assigning a budget to pay parents does not come first. To sum up, it seems to me that supporting families to have a chance to stay at home and take care of their children is beneficial to have mentally healthy children and a strong bond among family members. However, it can cause some financial issues for some governments because they have a shortage of budget.