Investment in local amenities such as leisure centres is the best way for the government to foster a good community spirit.To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Governments can improve the spirit of their community by investing in local facilities like entertainment centres. I believe that this is the most effective way,and there are other steps that governments can take. It is obvious that developing different amenities can increase citizens ‘ quality of life. For example, providing green spaces which are equipped with some sports facilities can encourage people to exercise there, and it can provide them with an opportunity to socialize with each other. Thus, this can help people with being healthy physically and mentally. Leisure centres like aquatic parks lead teenagers to have fun entertainment, release their energy and make more friends. The more people communicate with each other, the more community spirit is improved. Thus, using these amenities can increase people ’s productivity in work and study. Nevertheless, there are some other measures that can make a good bond in a community. On specific occasions, some events and competitions should be held by the authorities in order to amaze the public and raise awareness of their cultural and historical background which may increase civic pride in society. For example, the Iran government holds art competitions on some religious days, and some leaflets are distributed which contain educational stories for children. In addition, governments should allocate a budget to broadcast educational and entertaining television programs. In other words, there are some disabled and elderly people who prefer to stay at home more. In this case, they can enjoy watching these programs. To sum up, it seems to me that although there are several ways to make a strong community spirit, investing in local facilities by governments is more useful.