Directors of large organizations receive much higher salaries than ordinary workers. Some think it is necessary while others think it is unfair. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some believe that executives of large companies should receive higher pay packets compared to ordinary workers, while others claim this is an unfair approach. In my opinion, providing those in managerial positions with excessive amount of wage compared to the other employees can demotivate general workers and make them feel indifferent about their basic responsibilities. On the one hand, people think rewarding those in higher positions with good remunerations can motivate employees with less salary to thrive on challenges they undertake and reach executive roles as soon as possible. It is argued that this might increase the overall level of productivity of workers in businesses which might lead them to obtain more revenue in the long run. For example, newly hired staff generally look up to those who have the entitlement to make strategic decisions about the company and try their best to reach to their level and obtain the same amount of remuneration. On the other hand, others, including me, claim that this tendency might be the source of discouragement for general employees. Once they find out about the gap between the pay packets, they might feel underappreciated and underestimated since they are the ones who execute all the technical parts of the work. This might cause them to feel indifferent about the tasks they undertake since they do not receive the appropriate amount of compensations for their hard work. Even some of them can consider the option of quitting and finding better paid work. This trend might lead organizations to lose many productive workers and decrease the overall profitability of operations since no one wants to take their jobs seriously. To conclude, even though some companies choose to pay higher amount of salary to directors, I believe those businesses should also take consider the detrimental effects of this practice and make some adjustments to wage policies in order not to demotivate ordinary employees and make them lose interest toward their jobs.