Some people say that when deciding how taxes should be spent, the government should prioritize healthcare. Others say that there are more important priorities to spend the taxpayers' money. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

On the one hand, people arguing in favour of making healthcare a top priority may base their position on several reasons. One of them is that healthcare is a basic necessity for all members of society. Because of this, public funds should be used to ensure that it is accessible to everybody, regardless of social status. Another important factor is that having a robust healthcare system can help the public better deal with future disease outbreaks. As can be seen during the recent Covid-19 pandemic, thousands of people lost their lives specifically because hospitals around the world lacked adequate doctors and equipment to treat patients. In order to prevent similar situations in the future, more funding would be necessary. On the other hand, I think that the sustainable use of energy and making education more accessible would be a better use of tax revenue. With regard to the former, private businesses have yet to earn significant financial profits in manufacturing electric cars and harvesting renewable energies, hence the need for state subsidies to sponsor research and boost/encourage adoption by consumers. More widespread employment of renewable resources would result in lower demand for fossil fuels, thus reducing the global warming phenomenon, and ensuring planet Earth continues to be habitable for future generations. In addition, better and more accessible education could allow all children to develop to their full potential and drive up the productivity of the future labour force as a result. A more competitive economy is a determining factor for future tax revenues, and generates sustainable funding for better public services, including healthcare.