Some believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people advocate that, the older members of families should be cared for by families' younger members when the older ones are not able to take concern of themselves because of physical, mental or financial problems of theirs and this should be mandatory by law which I disagree with since everybody does not have the same economic situations, living conditions or relationships with parents as younger members. First and foremost, it is clear that taking care of an old person demands quite time or enormous financial power in order to hire someone to provide care to the older instead of themselves, but the young members might not have these opportunities because of their work hours or low income. In addition to that, some people live in different cities or even different countries than their extended families. Thus, even if they desire to look after them without legal enforcement, they couldn’t do it because of their conditions. For example,their locations,work or money. Secondly, even though they have the power to support them considering time, revenue or short distance, they would not want to do it because of their relationships with their older ones. There is a good chance, they have never known them before and assisting the older members of your family whom you have never met as an obligation which is created by law would not be fair to them. Furthermore, some people have some terrible memories with the older including mistreatment in abusive aspects so, they should not be their caretakers considering their physical and psychological health. To conclude, there are many people who think that taking care of the older members when they couldn’t be legal responsibility for the young members of a family which I totally disagree with since financial and personal circumstances would show some alteration among individuals.