Some educationist think that international exchange visit will benefit teenagers at school. To what extent do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

International exchange programmes have been rising exponentially as they allow people to gain invaluable experiences. Recently, education experts believe that being a transfer student has its positives, namely, learning a foreign language, new culture and advancing academically which may outweigh the negatives such as loneliness, homesickness and costs. This essay will showcase why the positives outweigh the negatives. On the one hand, going to study abroad can bring many life-changing opportunities for the student. For instance, transfer programmes between an Asian and a western country is an enormous step as a person gets to experience a new language and different cultural norms. To be able to indulge in a new language brings out the essence of that particular culture. Similarly, academically it gives an experience to those wishing to pursue further studies if they find this swap a positive experience. Consequently, cultural enrichment is not limited to just language and travel, it entails, food, people and many other habits, therefore, providing many reasons for teenagers to pursue their careers abroad. On the other hand, some may feel that an exchange programme is not suited to them. For example, many students are unable to afford the costs of travelling, living and paying for study materials. Thus, can make it a more unhappy experience particularly, if they have to live on a limited budget. Additionally, some students may get homesick. Although, during the current modern era, we are able to video call and text our families via apps such as Whatsapp, being physically around family and friends is an unimaginable feeling. Consequently, it can be difficult to make new friends. As a result, pupils may feel that taking part in this programme may not be the right choice for them. To conclude, exchange programmes are a lifetime experience. Students can either attain fantastic new knowledge, self-awareness as well as future goals, however, if their fears of being homesick and lonely are overcome, the only drawback would be the cost. Thus this programme has more benefits than drawbacks