In some countries, more and more adults are continuing to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the Western world, it is increasingly more common for young people to continue to live in the same house as their parents after graduating and finding a job. This trend has both pros and cons, however, this essay will show that there are more benefits, for children and parents alike. On the one hand, when adults remain living together with their parents, it might result in them not learning how to live independently and take care of their basic needs since they are accustomed to having their parents do everything for them. For instance, their mother might continue to cook for them and wash their clothes. Moreover, it can lead to uncomfortable situations where the parents wish for their child to move out, but they cannot muster up the courage to convey the message. On the other hand, co-housing also has several benefits for both generations. With the rising cost of living, living at home can be very cost-beneficial for young adults, which allows them to save up money for the future. In addition, in Western societies, it is common for the elderly to move to care facilities once they are no longer able to foresee their own needs. However, living together with their children, means that they could help their ageing parents with certain tasks. In many Asian countries, this is engrained in the culture. In India for instance, sons usually continue to live together with their parents, and they see it as their moral duty to take care of their every need. In conclusion, as long as the children participate in doing the house chores, and it is no burden to the parents to continue having their children in the house, both parties could greatly benefit from the arrangement.