Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this contemporary world with advanced technology, smartphones are getting more and more intelligent, which appeals to children spending a lot of time fiddling with them. Although mobile phones can be used as a studying tool in some cases, I do firmly suggest that the cons of this development overweigh the pros. First of all, too much screen time has already gotten to a point where it has started to jeopardize children ’s physical health, for,example skeletal dysplasia, as they are not sitting properly while utilising their phones, as well as near-sighted due to browzing different sites or playing video games for hours. In addition, young people’s mental health is another factor which will be badly impacted by the excessive use of mobile phones. On the one hand, it may hinder children from establishing correct value toward money, as children are exposed to all kinds of advertisements, it is very possible that they would purchase some goods they do not genuinely need. On the other hand, children may be exposed to pornographic websites, which will result in precocity and inappropriate thoughts or behaviours and thus bring about psychological illness. What’s more, indulging in playing with their phones may lead to indifference or even worse:lack of sympathy. Childhood is a significant period for the emotional formation of individuals, and it requires loads of quality time spent with friends and family in the real world, yet they have wasted their time in the virtual world In conclusion, smartphones can be a positive development for children only if they are used correctly. Overuse of them can be harmful to young people both physically and mentally.