In many countries, people do not recycle waste materials such as bottles and newspapers. What are the reasons for this ? What could be done to solve this problem ?

Since the last decade, there has been a significant increase in the amount of waste generated. Despite this, people continue to avoid recycling and reusing these materials. This essay will first outline that the principal reasons for this problem are the lack of awareness and government funding and then discuss that educational campaigns and monetary backing from governmental bodies can help mitigate this problem. The main reasons for this problem are the scarcity of knowledge about this topic and deficient financial funding. First of all, people are not aware of the hazards of pollution and the accumulation of plastic because of this they do not reuse bottles and avoid recycling newspapers. They do not realise that this can have negative consequences on their lifestyle. In a 2018 study, conducted by Stanford University,it was noticed that only thirty per cent of the population residing in New York was aware that certain products could be recycled. Another reason contributing to this issue is the lack of economical support from national organizations. The government inappropriately invests in the sector of refuse management because of which there is no work done in this area. For instance, only two per cent of available funds are invested in the reuse of garbage. Although there are several causes responsible for this, there are a fair number of plausible solutions such as ensuring adequate economic backing and awareness created with the help of education. Ensuring good financial help from the nation can benefit this. The country should allocate a certain amount of money to improve the handling of recyclable materials. For example, in the UK, citizens who invent new techniques for the disposal of garbage and suggest ways to reuse refuse are awarded cash prizes. Furthermore, another method of managing this would be to conduct educational sessions about it. This could be done by using powerful multimedia devices. With the help of this citizens might gain more knowledge about this particular topic and devise ways to manage it. In conclusion, there are certain reasons responsible for people refusing to recycle waste such as less information and deficient monetary support. However, with the help of effective learning propaganda and help from the nation, this can be easily managed.