One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

The development of the medical system has resulted in an extended average life duration. Undoubtedly there are both positive and negative sides to this phenomenon, however in my opinion profits are much stronger than drawbacks. On the one hand increase in life expectancy results in more retired people in the population, who are not involved in the creation of GDP and the development of the economy. While taxpayers' weight in the population decreases, the amount of money spent on pensions gets higher, therefore, people are supposed to pay more taxes before retirement or retire late. In other words, higher average lifespan leads to the need for economical and social transformations in the country. On the other hand, as people live longer, there are able to come up with more social benefits. While 1 or 2 centuries before, the young generation had a chance to communicate with their parents only, nowadays they have the opportunity to speak to their grandparents or even the older generation. On the other side, the older generation can enjoy life with their grandchildren and be active during that period. Finally, from my point of view, even though there are some drawbacks to this phenomenon, the longest possible life expectancy all over the world is the endpoint of the development of humankind in general and the medical system in particular.