Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation” What might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Today, more people choose to be an entrepreneur rather than to be a salary man working in a company. This could be due to the various advantages that being self-employed offers. However, there are also a few disadvantages to this career path. Both of these sides will be discussed in detail in the following paragraphs. Being their own boss can have vast advantages. Firstly, people can work at their own pace to achieve the most effective result. For example, people who function best at night might not perform well at a big corporation where working hours from nine a.m. to five p.m. are required. Secondly, there is no pressure from upward management. Thus, work will become enjoyable and yield better outcomes. Thirdly, it gives a sense of ownership, in which the owner can plan and execute whatever they think is best. Last but not least, the compensation is directly correlated with the effort that was put into the work. For instance, working at an organization will pay the same amount of salary every month regardless of how much effort people put in. On the other hand, there are a few disadvantages that come with being an entrepreneur. First of all, people will not get constant income every month. To illustrate, the owner can get nothing in some months if the business is not operated well. Another disadvantage is that the owner must push themselves hard to have strong self-discipline in order to complete the work without being pressured by the boss. In conclusion, being self-employed is becoming popular because the owner can work at their own pace without being pressured by managers, has a strong sense of ownership, and is compensated fairly. However, this has drawbacks in terms of unstable monthly income and the need to push themselves for strong self-discipline to be able to get the work done.