In order to reduce crime, we need to attack the causes of crime such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. It is enough to simply have more police on the street and put more people into prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people believe that the best way to decrease the number of committed crimes is required to eliminate reasons for it, such as poverty and poor education. Others think that the better option is to increase police patrols to put more criminals in prison. My take on this is that financial problems and undereducation are the main causes of committing crimes and to solve them the governments should focus on them. Poverty is directly connected with the crime rate. Indeed, lack of accounting liquidity doesn't provide the financial background. If someone struggles with poor finances, he or she will more likely commit a crime. Individuals who desperately look for money act impulsively. Moreover, they don't mind getting involved in illegal practices instead of having the will to survive. For example, starving people decide to steal food. Undereducated people have trouble finding a job. Illiterate communities don't meet the requirements of the labour market. In the opposite situation, when someone is educated commonly decides to seek opportunities to develop personally due to increased chances of getting work. The education level is closely connected with social consciousness. Graduates have moral behaviour and act following impeccable manners standards. For instance, the unemployment rate has a direct impact on the crime rate which could be observed especially in developing countries. They have the poorest educational system and consequently the highest number of committed crimes. In conclusion, it is not enough to increase the number of police officers to secure streets from deviants to lower the crime rate. In my opinion, to achieve it, it's necessary to fix the fundamental problems behind that, such as poverty and unemployment.