Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions.Do you agree or disagree

Some people opine that people can do away with traditional libraries because technology has given us the facility of virtual or online libraries. Although technology has reduced our need to go to the libraries, traditional libraries can never become redundant and maintaining them is not a waste of money. On the one hand, it can be a waste of money to keep libraries open. The advent of new technologies like computers and the Internet has transformed traditional libraries from venues containing a large number of printed documents into paperless libraries containing only digitized documents. This has led to the creation of virtual libraries in which the user has access to information at any time and anywhere in the world by using the modern tools of communications, such as computers and Internet facilities. Therefore, it is unnecessary to spend money on traditional libraries because fewer and fewer users use them. However, libraries still play an important role these days. Firstly, a person goes to a library not only to search and get information from books but also to sit and study there. The peaceful and scholarly ambiance of the library helps one to concentrate more on one's work and study. Secondly, virtual libraries can be accessed only by those who are computer literate. For elderly or disadvantaged individuals who rarely have a chance to be exposed to cutting-edge technologies like computers or smartphones, it is much more challenging to access information online than going to a traditional library. In conclusion, advancement should be welcomed in every field but the importance of the libraries for their fundamental role cannot be put aside, and funding them is not wasting financial resources.