In order to reduce crime, we need to attack the causes of crime such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. It is enough to simply have more police on the street and put more people into prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays crime is becoming a major concern for a horde of major towns across the globe. While some suggest that unemployment, poverty, and lack of educational infrastructure must be eradicated in order to combat crime, others suggest that increasing manpower on the streets is one of the essential ways of tackling this hurdle. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument while I support the former opinion. On the first hand, many individuals, who opine that patrolling units in all major metropolitans should be increased, might say this because crime is quite widespread these days. To illustrate this point, people in my city, New Delhi, avoid leaving their apartments at late night in the fear of getting robbed or experiencing any act of harassment. In contrast, if we do not do much about this ongoing rampant situation in various cities, they would consequently become breeding grounds for major crimes, such as rape, murder, and burglary to name a few. On the other hand, crime can be tackled by improving the standard of living of many individuals dwelling in urban and suburban locations. The reason for this is that the probability of an educated folk committing a felony is lesser than a person with no educational background ostensibly. For example, many criminals, who are serving in prison, undergo some education training so that they may kick-start their lives afresh once released. On the contrary, if these procedures were to abandon in prison cells altogether, the crime rate would rise rapidly patently. In conclusion, while increasing the number of police staff on the streets may impede a few crimes, uplifting poverty from society and improving educational institutions can render life-altering differences.